Middle aged rant


A crash course in life? Blah! Its just another foolish thought in life. I wasn’t considering crashing into a tree or a stump, I was thinking more like a soft bed with clean spring sheets from the housekeeping department at the nearest bellhop along the strip.

“The strip?”, exactly – but, I wasn’t talking about Las Vegas, silly, I was talking about the local drag down the street from me, the major west to east connection between Eugene and the Oregon Coast. It hasn’t dawned on me yet, but the creation of life within one’s middle age seems to get stranger and stranger as we get older, but – it does have its perks.

I often wonder why things change so fast in life, that it only seems like yesterday, I was in my wonder years, than, my junior and high school years, than the beginning of my adult life – now, I’m in my mid forties, wondering what life will be like in another forty years from now? If I’m lucky to see life that far out in the universe and this magnificent planet called, Earth.

I can’t predict the future, rewind the past or leap forward in between as they did on the season finale of ABC’s “LOST”, I could only dream where it could lead, front, back, forward or sideways. But, life seems more like an episode of “Three’s Company” or “Cheers”, depending which comes first, Janet and Chrissy in their nightgowns or Sam and Diane, stealing home in the back of Cliff’s mail truck!

Its only a necessity in life to have fun with the Irish when you know you can have even better fun in the Yukon and the Northern Lights!

Leave a Reply

