The super pinch!: America’s pocket book


  When America becomes hungry their appetite becomes the enemy of the state – in their pocket book, that is.

“No, the CIA isn’t after my cheeseburger, they’re after the spook that keeps calling the dominoes pizza outlet for a pepperoni pizza every night,” costing Newt Gingrich his retirement fund and his pesky Roth IRA, not to mention his 401K account as well.

When it comes to Americans eating out, they expect to pay the price of their meal only. But, than – when it comes times to ask for such ask condiments, such as ketchup packets, dipping sauce packets, salt and pepper, straws and lids, etc., that could be needed as extra by the consumer, are being charged out of pocket expenses for such extras, after they have picked up their orders at the pick-up line.

A recent visit to a local Burger King (BK) Store in my town netted me, just that – an out of pocket expense for such an item for dipping sauce for my French Fries! That’s right folks, the local BK franchise wanted to charge me .20 cents, twenty cents for a single packet of Ranch Dressing for my dip my fries in, while I eat.

In all the years, that I’ve been going to that same BK, I’ve never been charged a penny on a dime for such condiments. In fact, I wonder why corporate greediness is taking America’s consumers by storm?

Probably, not by the interest of the “Occupy Movement” – but, that of corporate profit to suck and bilk hardworking Americans and tourists out of their wallets and bank accounts for such simple condiments items that have long been free to consumers, who do business with just eateries in America.

Of course – they say, “We are free to do as we please and sell as we please and we have a right to refuse service to anyone who we please,” they say.

But, when the customer gets charged for an out of pocket expense, it becomes a burden on those who have to dwell for their hard earn cash that may be needed elsewhere.

It’s called – “bilking the money.” I’m am told by the Assistant Manager of the restaurant, “that they have always been charging for such little condiment items to customers,” she said. The statement made me give back the item I had wanted to use for my fries and simply told her, “in all the years, I’ve been coming here, I have never been charged for such items,” I said. Why charge for simple things as this is beyond my disbelief and why such companies as Burger King would go to such lengths to expand their profit expenditures and more.

Greed is an evil word, bilking money from the consumer is a sin – plain and simple. Sooner or later, such items will be enforced into their price of one’s meal and things will be more costly and profitable for such fast food chains, but, in the long run, many would lose out on their customer base for other chains that make it simple and clean and aren’t following the golden rule of corporate greed.

BK may have just lost another valuable customer – perhaps, I’m in settlement for a better deal for my money at my girlfriend’s place of work, two blocks down the street. BK sounds so wickedly insane to be charging for such condiment items, when the economy is showing some gain and speed in regaining its strength.

Leave a Reply

