When a spoke breaks you–@#$%!!


Dorena Lake bike ride 002  A few weeks ago, I had done the most impromptu thing any bicyclist would do – take the bike into the shop and have the mechanic do the fix. Okay, it certainly wasn’t Shepard Motors, but, this was a bicycle shop, I’ve been hearing about so much, that, the shop service was the best there is town, as, I told by the locals on the Disciples of Dirt yahoogroups mailing list and a few other recommendations from those in the local cycling community as well.

The thing is, I hardly do much mountain biking as I once did, when I was in my younger years – I’m still riding the same bike my Mom bought be five or six years ago and recently, the spokes have been stressing out and popping one by one – since, January of this year, five have been taken to “spoke heaven,” leaving me with nearly a “taco time” out of true wheel, each time, I run into one of these spoke mishaps.

The last repair job netted my wallet a good $16 bucks for a spoke repair – this time, the repair netted the same amount from a “sister” bike shop with competitive prices to spare, even though Life Cycles Bike Shop was in the mist of a swamp with builds and other repair jobs. Since, I had only only called them before I left my home office for some seriously needed errand runs, they were gracious enough to call another nearby bike shop and quote me on a price for an “on the spot” emergency repair, several blocks away.

I figured, if, it was close enough and the price was right, my wallet would not scream at me like a police siren blaring “CODE 3” down Seventh Avenue to an emergency call, however the price was decent to begin with. I’m happy.

Now, the reliance of cycling is to get the entire back wheel rebuilt with fresh and stronger spokes to weed out that rest of the agony of further spoke and wheel taco’s, later on down the road. At least it would rest my blood pressure to begin with, if I went this route – figures.

As they would say in an old 1970’s, “7-UP” commercial –”Marvelous, just marvelous!”

Leave a Reply

