Thanksgiving brings out the masses in Cochlear Implants


freedom processor  Thanksgiving has a lot of interesting “thanksgiving’s” in a whole lot of ways. During the Thanksgiving holiday, there was an interesting series of events that took place. While my parents and I decide to furlough the pains and liberty of baking and cooking a full course Thanksgiving meal, we decided to head out to our favorite eatery – HomeTown Buffet.

Deliciously cooked and good as if it were cooked at home, My appetite was happy toward the end. But, an interesting series of events took place, even before we left the restaurant and headed home. I encountered a sighting (not Bigfoot, UFO or Alien), but, that of a young boy, no more than three or four years old and he amazed me at his young age with bilateral Cochlear Implants. I myself wear a CI as well, but, this young boy brought smiles to both Me and my Mother’s faces as we ate our dinner.

Flashbacks of my own childhood struggling with hearing loss once again reminded me of the hardships of growing up for more than, forty-four years, thirty-nine at the time of my CI surgery in 2007. But, this little guy had story – a story, I hadn’t had forty years earlier, a Cochlear Implant. Amazingly, how technology has advanced over the years, since, I wore my first hearing aids bilaterally in both ears.

When, I decided to get up and make another round for the dinner plate, I approached his father and asked him about his hearing loss and his bilateral CI’s. I had learned he had been implanted at age six months. I had seen children implanted shortly after birth, but, not at the age of my own childhood, years earlier.

The advancement of technology has advanced so much, that Cochlear Implants are getting smaller and smaller each year as technology becomes more advanced, that one day, you won’t even see a person with a CI externally, but, internally with the possibility of a remote control to power the implant off and on and to change programs in one’s hearing capacity, has I do now with my CI alone.

But – check this out, this young boy’s entire family had a history of hearing loss, as well! – several of them wearing CI’s and hearing aids. Just before, we were to call it a night, the boy’s “grandfather” came up to me and asked my about my own Cochlear Implant and asked me all sorts of questions and more. Since, I work and volunteer as a Cochlear Awareness Support Volunteer with the Cochlear Awareness Network and Cochlear Corporation – it suddenly became a “Cochlear Awareness Network Thanksgiving,” at the end.

My friends are always telling me, the Cochlear Implant is a “girl magnet!” I’m not too sure about that one, but, it does become a “public relations magnet” of it’s own from time to time. Believe me, one of my high school buddies, still can’t believe it, either and he’s still amazed at the advancement of technology himself. Go figures, “Crash Newton” has struck again with the Vegas bookies, I tell him from time to time from Maui, Hawaii.

If it wasn’t for my hearing loss, life would’ve been a different perspective to being with – but, as life is given to me from above in the heavens, it has brought wonderful memories of life in general. I couldn’t have been happier in life, than, I was nearly forty-five years ago in the late 1960’s, when my life story took on a whole new chapter in life. Perhaps this is “Chapter Two?” – not the movie with James Caan and Marcia Mason.

But, Chapter Two itself – but, one can never know, until they get to heaven and asking the heavenly saints of life in a universe full of amazing people that has passed on for generations.

It’s interesting though, because people have a different lifestyles with different chapters to being with. It’s only a perspective, a serious perspective. I couldn’t have enjoyed it more, than, writing about it. “It’s a whole new experience still and a whole new life,” as I tell others about having a Cochlear Implant, today, tomorrow and the next few months and more. My grandfather was always right, it was his dream to see me hear again, but, he never lived to see it or did my Aunt and Uncle, but, My grandmother did, before she passed away in 2010.

Heavenly, as I keep thinking, God and the universe keeps doing amazing with life and for that matter, it’s my only cue with a story to tell, an amazing story and for that matter – “that’s a wrap folks.”

Leave a Reply

