Fundraising for Eugene Hearing and Speech Center


Eugene Hearing And Speech Center
Eugene Hearing And Speech Center

Ok folks, those of you that live in the Eugene-Springfield area that are looking to support good cause? A great cause?

How about enjoying a pulling up a pint for a good cause?

Join the cast and crew of Rick Dancer TV and the folks of the Eugene Hearing and Speech Center for an all day fundraising event for the Eugene Hearing and Speech Center?

Where and when? Well, the Oakshire Brewing Company will be donating a $1 for every pint sold on Wednesday, January 14th, 2015 at their tap house in Downtown Eugene at 207 Madison Street from 11AM – 10PM to show their support and admiring gesture of support to the Eugene Hearing and Speech Center’s Mission and their cause of helping folks with Hearing Loss, Speech therapy and more – It all starts with showing your support for EHSC and Oakshire Brewing on January 14th.

Be sure to check out the YouTube video at the end of this post about the event on January 14th.

Author’s support for EHSC

For many years, I’ve had nothing but good vibes and experiences with the EHSC through the years, since losing my own hearing at the ages of three and four prospectively since the late 1960’s.

It wasn’t until the early late 1990’s and 2000’s that my hearing started to decline once again. In 2005-’06, I made a major jump from one bandwagon to another and certainly had it’s merits of going “bionically,” as some folks in my generation would recall in the 1970’s, two television shows that made technological advances into the world of television, actually made it’s way into modern day lifestyles of prosthetic’s and the advancement of one’s hearing into the world of Cochlear Implants.

February 2007
Photo by Jeff Newton February 2007

Eugene Hearing and Speech Center was responsible for the decision making process that took place back 2005-2007 years – the decision was rough, but it paid off handsomely eight years later, when I finally upgrade to the next generation process of my Cochlear Implant journey – the Nucleus 6.

In the fall of 2006, I was granted permission by my medical insurance to allow me to get an expensive and much needed Cochlear Implant surgery, that would help restore my hearing to the lengths and strengths, I had not seen or heard since, the late 1960’s when I lost my hearing in the years of 1968-’69.

The flourishing of technology and the advancement was far greater than I had ever experienced with my hearing in the waning days leading up to my Cochlear Implant surgery in 2007.

On February 7th of that very same year, my world changed, entirely.

My life not changed, so did that of my Mother, who was with me at the time of my activation, our lives have never been tabbed to a more magical moment in more than thirty-nine years at the time of the day of infamy. When I heard her first natural words, “Jeffery can you hear me,” has she said, while sitting across from me at the time – it was the first time in memory, I had ever seen my mother cry a river of joy, since losing my hearing in 1968.

My life would’ve been doomed from the start, if the implant didn’t work – but, it did happen in way, a way I had dreamed many times before that infamous day in 2007 – naturally, it was the happiest time of my life.

Eight years later in 2015

Things have changed enormously, since day one! Seriously, the naysayers whom are against having a Cochlear Implant have no understanding how my life has changed in those eight years – eight years to be exact. The infamous scare, that technology will never be the same or will ruin their lives with a bad decision from the’ll regret from the start.

It actually gave me the confidence and an enormous technological advancement in my quest and mission to hear and to that of my family and friends to see that our lives have been effected by the change of events to an elegant price – it all paid off handsomely! Since the death of my grandfather, it was his dream to see me hear and for me to hear the world, he wanted the best of the best – the “Top Guns” of hearing! He passed away in early 1990 without ever seeing that dream. But, in my heart, I know he has because every time I tell that story, the tears swell up in my eyes and his shadow leans over my shoulder knowing that he has seen the transformation from a far has heaven can see with us here.

At least my Grandmother was able to see the merits and the benefits of hearing before she passed away in 2010, just three days shy of Christmas – she witnessed the dream of that my grandfather once had during his lifetime on earth. But, it stop me from venturing my quest to hear the world as I do today – there are still times when I discover sounds I’ve not heard in many years or ages or even decades as I once heard them with my natural hearing alone.

It was the closet gift from heaven – one that spared me the anguish, but one that gave me the gift of happiness ever after.

To make the cause and the gift of hearing

Eugene Hearing and Speech Center W.10th and Almaden St., Eugene, Or
Eugene Hearing and Speech Center W.10th and Almaden St., Eugene, Or

Has I said before, I couldn’t have been more happier with the way the folks at the EHSC have provided me with service and helpful insights for more than forty years of my life – a $1 a pint for a cause that Oakshire will donate for each pint sold on January 14th 11am to 10pm is worth the cause and the gift of hearing and for those who seek to share their own stories of their own journey’s. This story is a stark reminder, there is always something for those who could benefit from the services and more of the Eugene Hearing and Speech Center. I know I did just that through out the forty-plus years of my life.

So, come out and join the cast and crew of Rick Dancer TV and the folks of EHSC help you help a cause, not that I believe in, but that we all believe in! I know it’s well worth the time and the efforts of those who work with the EHSC for every pint sold during the fundraising event, that $1 donation goes a long way in helping those who use the services of EHSC and a whole lot more.

Leave a Reply

